Behold the Starbucks January Tumbler—the Holy Grail of Creativity

Starbucks January 2017 Tumbler

Starbucks January 2017 Tumbler

One of the Christmas gifts HB received was the Starbucks January tumbler, which can be used to get a free grande brewed hot coffee or hot tea through the month of January. It’s the perfect gift for him because he likes his coffee black, and like most people, he depends on coffee to get him going in the morning and sometimes as a pick-me-up in the afternoon. Since he works downtown, there’s a Starbucks on every other block, so using the tumbler is no big deal, right?

This year, however, he’ll be working in various locations, which means it’s more effort to keep track of his tumbler and to make sure he’s maximizing his usage. And so, he has passed the Starbucks tumbler to me. He knows that I don’t like wasting things (almost to the point of it being an OCD), and I’ve just figured out a plan.To make the most of the $40 tumbler, I would have to use it at least eighteen times. For the sake of simplicity, I’ll say I’d have to use it once each day from Monday to Friday, and if I’m really ambitious, I might check out more than one location in a day. 😉

HB and I discussed how brilliant the Starbucks January tumbler was. It takes about 21 days to make or break a habit. For those who weren’t regular Starbucks drinkers (but are diligent value-seekers), they would find themselves learning the locations of the nearest Starbucks and figure out which ones are good/bad and what are good times to go. After awhile they would go to their favorite one(s) for their caffeine fix. By February, they would be hooked on making Starbucks a part of their daily routine.

It made me realize, why not take it a step further and leverage the Starbucks habit by using it as a reward or an incentive to help me achieve my New Year’s resolutions/goals. I’d stop by a Starbucks to use the tumbler if I did or would do something that would help me achieve one of the following: 1) write more; 2) get back into creating art; 3) get in shape; 4) simplify/streamline my environment; 5) get back in touch with friends.

I can see myself doing 1 and 5 at a Starbucks, and 3 is easy to do as I can hit the drive-thru on my way home from the gym.

And then I thought to myself, why stop there? Why not live a little, pay a little extra, and treat myself to a special froufrou drink if I do something above and beyond? The possibilities are endless.

And how convenient! I just happened to finish an activity that supports one of my goals to write more. Time for a Starbucks.

 

Leave a Reply

