Recipe: Mama Sophia’s Drunken Steamed Mussels

Mama Sophia's Drunken Steamed MusselsOne of my favorite meals which I had in Paris was steamed mussels in white wine, garlic, butter, and chives. It was so good that I shamelessly kept asking for more and more baguettes to sop up the broth. The baguettes were the only thing that kept me from putting my lips directly to the bowl to slurp up.

Over the years, I figured out a way to make steamed mussels. They may not be made exactly the same way as the ones I had in Paris, but they’re still yummy to the last drop. I love that they’re very quick and easy to make and have a great “wow!” factor.

Recipe: Mama Sophia’s Drunken Steamed Mussels

2 lb. fresh Prince Edward Island mussels
1 medium onion (thinly sliced from quarters)
5-7 cloves of garlic (finely minced)
2 tbs. of olive oil (or butter or margarine)
1 bottle of beer or 2 cups of white wine
(optional) Finely chopped fresh parsley, chives, or green onion for color and fresh flavor

1) Heat oil (or butter/margarine) in pot and sauté onions and garlic until nicely carmelized (medium heat).

2) Raise temperature, add alcohol of choice to pot and boil. Add mussels and cover pot with lid. Cook for 5 minutes.

3) Optional: Add the finely-chopped fresh parsley, chives or green onions.

4) Serve mussels immediately with warm crusty baguettes. Enjoy!

_____

Notes:

  • I like to buy the rope-cultured mussels vs. the ones that get dug up because there’s little to no grit and less mess to deal with. Just give it a quick rinse and they’re ready to go.
  • An Italian twist. One time I added in sausage while sautéing the onions/garlic. It added a nice body and smokiness to the broth. I also added in some frozen peas when I put in the mussels and served everything on top of linguini.
2 thoughts on “Recipe: Mama Sophia’s Drunken Steamed Mussels

  1. Oh, thank you for this recipe. My oldest child waits tables in a restaurant in NY, and they serve a dish similar to this. It is wonderful. I’ll definitely be giving this a try.

    And I’ve been wondering what the banner was. : D

Leave a Reply

