For the Reluctant Veggie Eater: Mama Sophia’s Holy Guacamole Recipe

I have to confess that I am generally not fond of vegetables. I think of them as necessary evils and often plan a meal with them as an afterthought.

Over the years I’ve figured out ways to sneak in stuff that’s supposed to be good for me into my diet. One of them is guacamole. I really enjoy using it as a veggie dip for crunchy vegetables such as carrots, jicama, bell peppers, cucumbers, and more. And of course, there’s always the tortilla chips to eat with the guacamole.

The best guacamole I ever had was made tableside in a stone pig (molcajete). I’ve seen the molcajete at Crate and Barrel and Sur La Table and came very close to buying it for myself a number of times, but have decided not to. One—because I live in the Midwest and avocados tend to be expensive, so I don’t make it very often. Two—I’m a little uneasy about how I’m going to clean the molcajete well enough so it won’t be a petri dish for e. coli.

Nevertheless, I’m content and successful with using a basic ceramic bowl and the potato masher. As with anything, if you work with the freshest ingredients, you’re more than halfway there.

Mama Sophia’s Holy Guacamole Recipe
2 ripe avocados
1 small onion
3 campari tomatoes
1 serrano or jalapeno pepper
lime
fresh, finely chopped cilantro (optional)
salt and pepper (optional)

1) Cut avocado in half lengthwise—remove pit, crosshatch (tic-tac-toe multiple times), and scoop out with spoon into a bowl.

2) Finely chop onion and rinse with cold running water in a sieve. Rinsing the chopped onion will help remove the naturally-occurring compound that make you gassy and ease the onion breath. Add onions into bowl.

3) Dice tomatoes and add into bowl (you may or may not choose to add the liquidy seeds and pulpy bits).

4) Slice pepper lengthwise. Remove seeds with knife carefully while avoiding making contact with seeds with your fingers; they may give you an unpleasant burning sensation. (I pity the soul who accidentally rubs his/her eyes after making contact with seeds). Chop pepper finely and add a little to bowl at first (about a teaspoon), and add more later. Lately, I’ve found that even the so-called mild Anaheim peppers have been spicy.

5) Squeeze a bit of lime juice on top of ingredients and mash everything together with potato masher.

6) Add salt/pepper to taste, and finely chopped cilantro. I usually don’t add salt as I find the lime juice makes it salty enough for me.

Serve immediately with warmed tortilla chips or fresh vegetables such as carrots, cucumbers, jicama, bell peppers, broccoli, or cauliflower.

Note: Guacamole is best eaten immediately after it’s made. Although the lime juice slows down the oxidation, it’s not going to keep the guacamole from browning for more than a few hours.

One thought on “For the Reluctant Veggie Eater: Mama Sophia’s Holy Guacamole Recipe

Leave a Reply

