Confessions Tuesday #4: Informercial Junkie

It’s a good thing I don’t watch much TV because it can get dangerous. However, I do have to be careful of “second-hand TV” when I inadvertently get sucked into watching a program and its commercials because HB and/or the Princess is watching their show and controlling the remote.

This past Sunday, I realized that my family and I are all hardwired to fall prey to “As Seen on TV” products. Thank goodness we don’t have cable and its many home shopping networks because the ticking numbers of how many left or sold are sure to reel us in.

HB seems to want to get the NuWave oven with its promise of healthier and quicker meals. He likes the idea of cooking a frozen turkey and fixings within an hour with the “dual convection/infrared technology.” I, however, having often been given grief for buying too much food and letting it go to waste, am not encouraging him on this one. I might reconsider if he allows us to get another freezer/fridge, or if he decides to take over both cooking and cleaning duties. But I’m not counting on either to happen.

The Princess finagled us to get a lady bug PillowPet for her for Christmas. We ended up paying double its TV-price via eBay because they were out of stock online. I’m not quite sure why she likes it. The lady bug is soft to be sure, but she has plenty of soft, plushy toys that haven’t been given a second glance. She never folds up her PillowPet to hold her pj’s for sleepovers because she doesn’t go to any sleepovers. Maybe it’s the catchy jingle or the fact that it was on TV. I’m thinking it must be the TV because there was a short spell when the PillowPet just sat in a corner—untouched and unloved—because no commercial was validating it being a great toy, up until recently. Now the lady bug is among her top three favorite babies again.

Most recently, she’s been harping on getting a Spray-Za and these gliders that one can use to slide on carpets. Thankfully, we have hardwood floors/rugs throughout the house, which made it easy for me to convince her that they wouldn’t work well at our house. I’ve also been artfully dodging the Spray-Za, especially as it looks like something she might use once and throw out because it’d run out of ink quickly, or it might be too hard to use.

She’s also been talking about how we should get a TempurPedic mattress for a good night’s sleep, as well as a DirectBuy membership for a new coffee maker. The moment she starts in on Cash for Gold, I know it’s time to ban regular TV with its commercials altogether.

At the moment, I myself am intrigued by the Topsy Turvy Upside Down Tomato Planter (and the Strawberry one, too), as well as the Magic Jack, though I’m sure it’s just a passing fancy—just like the Shark Steam Cleaner, AbCircle, Kinoki Foot Detox Pads, and a number of other products were. You know how the saying goes, if it sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

However, I have to say that we still use the Jack LaLanne’s Power Juicer and OxiClean, so not all informercial products were a waste. However, my Windsor Pilates DVDs are collecting dust on my bookshelf, and it’s been ages since we pulled out the George Foreman grill to make hamburgers.

I’d like to believe I’m getting better and developing an immunity. I’ve found myself watching those As-Seen-On-TV commercials and thinking, “There’s a sucker born every minute, and I’m not going to be one of them.” But most of the time, I try to leave the room when a commercial comes on, or switch the channel very quickly. Best to avoid temptation altogether.

Leave a Reply

