Thanksgiving Cook-off Countdown

I’m a glutton for punishment. Although the Big Meal is less than 48 hours away, I have yet to begin the actual shopping for ingredients. Right now, it’s pouring rain, the temperature is dropping, and the roads are pretty slick. I’m debating as to whether I should shop now (while most people are snug at home) or face the horde tomorrow morning. Heads, stay home; tails, go out. (Coin toss at the end of my post.)

Tomorrow afternoon, I’m having my first official playdate for the Princess and four of her friends from her first grade class. Activities include cookie decorating, crafts, and the Wii. The playdate is actually freaking me out more than cooking Thanksgiving dinner.

Somehow I let HB convince me to host the playdate on the day before Thanksgiving. At the time I was thinking, “Sure, I’ll be doing a favor for those moms who’ll need to do their shopping/food prep,” while forgetting that I could probably use the afternoon myself. D’oh [head smack].

Although I should be in some kind of catatonic state, a part of me knows that somehow my cooking/baking spirit guides will come through for me in the end. After all, I live for the stress, the adrenaline rush, and the final collapse at the finish when I say, “I’m never doing this again. Or at least I’ll plan it better next time.”

Here’s the tentative menu:
Turkey, Stuffing, and Gravy (me)
King Crab (me)
Spinach Dip and Sourdough Bread (me)
Mashed Potatoes (me)
Stir-fried Green Beans (me)
Fresh Spring Rolls and Dipping Sauces (me)
Pasta Salad (me)
Rice (me)
Kalbi Jeem (my SIL, Janice)
Nah-moorl—Korean veggies (my SIL, Janice)
Cranberry Mold (Grandma Lee)
Mashed Sweet Potatoes (Grandma Lee)
Assortment of Homemade Kimchee (Grandma Lee)

Dessert
Pumpkin Pie (me)
Coffee/Tea/Mulled Cider (me)
Holiday Sugar Cookies (me/HB/Princess)
Surprise Dessert (my sister, Julia)

Optional Food Items:
Sausage-y Rolls
Red Velvet Cupcakes with Tofutti Better-Than-Cream-Cheese-Frosting (me)
Pumpkin Muffins (me)

First night of food prep will be brining the turkey, prepping the ingredients for the stuffing, making the homemade chicken stock, spinach dip, and dessert. The rest of the goodies will be made on the day of. Pretty simple, right?

As for the coin toss—apparently, it doesn’t matter. The Princess and HB want sausage-y rolls “right now,” meaning I have to go out and get some ingredients tonight, whether I like it or not.

Leave a Reply

