Mama Sophia’s Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe (Dairy Free)

One of the best (and worst) things I was introduced to in college was Nutella. When the dining hall didn’t serve anything that tempted me, I would just carry out some of their freshly made bread and take it back to my room to have with the chocolate and hazelnut spread. And sometimes I would just eat it straight from the jar. It didn’t matter that it had palm oil and tons of sugar and fat. It was food for my soul and a balm for broken hearts and bad biochem tests. I would even go as far as saying that Nutella helped me get through college.

Some people can’t get enough of Nutella. Others can’t get enough of Marshmallow Fluff. For the Princess, it’s my Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese frosting. If given the opportunity, I’m sure she’d eat it straight out of the bowl.

I usually use the frosting with my banana muffins or carrot cake. But sometimes I pair it with fresh strawberries—it reminds me of creme fraiche.

This past week at the PTA Book Fair, I picked up a Fancy Nancy book and saw an interesting recipe for a snack to make for a tea party—celery sticks with cream cheese and raisins. I was thinking that I should try putting  some of this better-than-cream-cheese-frosting on the celery stick instead and maybe sprinkle a few vegan chocolate chips. Who knows? The Princess might accidentally enjoy the celery stick part as well?

Mama Sophia’s Better Than Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe
One 8 oz. container of Tofutti Better-Than-Cream-Cheese
1 stick Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Spread (about 1/2 cup)
2 tsps vanilla
1 1/2 cup powdered sugar

Combine all ingredients and blend until smooth. Chill in fridge for at least 15 minutes.

Notes:
1) Use a food processor vs. hand-held mixer for easier clean-up.

2) When applying frosting on baked items, make sure they have cooled down sufficiently (at least an hour). Not only will you have a cleaner product (no crumblies), but the frosting will hold its shape better (look more like frosting vs. a glaze).

3) For a tangy-er frosting, use Tofuttti Sour Supreme Better than Sour Cream instead of the dairy-free margarine.

3 thoughts on “Mama Sophia’s Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe (Dairy Free)

  1. Pingback: The Little Red Velvet Riding Hood Cupcakes – Gluten and Dairy free! | The Dusty Baker

  2. To be safe, I would treat it as I would frosting made of whipped cream (even though it doesn’t have any dairy). If it is not planned to be served immediately, I would refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

