Hooray for the Law of Attraction

For a long time, I was afraid to even hope for a MacBook Pro laptop because I didn’t want to get disappointed. I was told it was too expensive and that I could get several PC laptops for the price of one MacBook Pro. However, I kept thinking about all the great things I could do once I got it. And the more I thought about it, the idea of getting the laptop didn’t seem so far-fetched. In fact, I was able to make a legitimate business argument to myself. Perhaps my thoughts were loud enough that it made HB pick one up on his trip home from Portland recently…

In any case, I am happy to say that I am now a proud owner of the MacBook Pro (17 inch)!

But more importantly, this reinforced the concept of the Law of Attraction to me.

I’ve read about the Law of Attraction in many of my new age/self-help books. In fact, if I think about it, there have been many times in my life that I’ve seen it in practice. An example was when I moved to Boston without a job lined up. I thought to myself that there would be something waiting for me, and indeed, there was. Another time, we were looking for a parking space in the Ala Moana Shopping Center in Waikiki (if you’ve ever been there, you’d know how tough it is to find parking). I was thinking to myself, “Wouldn’t it be great to find a nice space close to the stores, so my father-in-law wouldn’t have to walk too far.” And then a space appeared right next to the handicapped parking spot near the main entrance.

I haven’t quite figured out 100% how it works. It’s a combination of visualizing a positive outcome, believing in an abundant, generous universe, and being open to what may come. It’s a happy, humming feeling in the gut that all is right and will go one’s way. I think it also helps having others believing/hoping along with you.

Anyway, with great gifts come great responsibilities. I have a lot of producing to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

